35th America’s Cup – 2015 Events

Next Event – Gothenburg, Sweden

– August 28-30, 2015 Event Link

America’s Cup World Series:

The America’s Cup race was founded 1851. The most recent champion is, United States Golden Gate Yacht Club – 2013

The America’s Cup World Series is a racing circuit featuring the best sailors in the world, competing on foiling, wingsailed catamarans – an updated version of the AC45 raced in the last series.

The America’s Cup World Series is the first stage of competition in the 2017 America’s Cup and begins in the summer of 2015.

Featuring all of the America’s Cup teams racing in foiling, one-design AC45 catamarans, the circuit is an early opportunity to put points on the board that carry forward into the next stage of the competition.

Overall ranking position in the America’s Cup World Series determines the starting points score of the teams in the America’s Cup Qualifiers in 2017.

All teams have been given an opportunity to host events in their home countries. At least four events are scheduled in 2015, including:

Portsmouth, Great Britain – July 23-26, 2015
Gothenburg, Sweden – August 28-30, 2015
Hamilton, Bermuda – October 16-18, 2015

Four to six events are expected in 2016, including a second event in Portsmouth in July and a regatta in Chicago during the summer.

America’s Cup Home Page